2016 UBC Health Award Recipients

Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the outstanding students, faculty, community partners, health educators and professionals receiving the 2016 UBC Health Awards. All award recipients were honoured and presented with their awards at the annual UBC Health Awards Reception in February 2017.

Open All  

ImpactBC Scholarships in Health Care Research and Development

Established in 2016 through an endowment by ImpactBC, these scholarships are for outstanding students enrolled in a UBC Health program who have completed a research or development project focusing on patient/client involvement in heath care decision-making or in health professional education. Two students received the ImpactBC Scholarship in its inaugural year, each for their excellent work on their respective research projects.

2016 Winners:

  • Ms. Yun-Hsuan Iris Feng, 4th year student, Bachelor of Dental Sciences, Dental Hygiene Entry-to-Practice program, Faculty of Dentistry, UBC.
  • Mr. Luke Spooner, Master of Science student, Health Outcomes program, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UBC.
John H. V. Gilbert Interprofessional Scholarship

This scholarship has been endowed by family, friends and colleagues of Dr. John H. V. Gilbert for an outstanding student in the final year of any health or human services degree program, who combines academic excellence and demonstrated student leadership in interprofessional education for collaborative patient-centred practice.

2016 Winner: Ms. Harriet Ho, Master of Science student, Population and Public Health program, Faculty of Medicine, UBC.

Professor Jessie Gordon MacCarthy Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship has been endowed by family, friends and colleagues of the late Jessie Gordon MacCarthy, who for ten years contributed through teaching, administration and research, to the development of the Health Sciences at UBC. The award is made to an outstanding student in the final year of any pre-licensure health science program, who best combines academic excellence, demonstrated interest and leadership in the field of community health.

2016 Winner: Ms. Emily Thong, 4th year student in the Doctor of Dental Medicine program, Faculty of Dentistry, UBC.

John F. McCreary Prize for Interprofessional Teamwork

Dr. John McCreary was the first Coordinator of Health Sciences at UBC. The McCreary Prize was established to recognize and promote interprofessional teamwork in the health and human service professions. The award is intended to draw attention to Dr. McCreary’s vision of interprofessional collaboration in clinical work and education and the value of a team approach in meeting the health needs of British Columbians. The first McCreary Prize was awarded in 1994.

2016 Winner: The Acute Rehabilitation Program at Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children for their project on “Creating One Interprofessional Discharge Report in Partnership with Patients, Families, and Community Providers”.

Honourable Mentions:

  • The Adolescent Complex Concussion Clinic at the G. F. Strong Rehabilitation Centre

  • The Fraser Street Medical Chronic Disease Management Team

John McNeill Excellence in Health Research Mentorship Award

This prestigious award, in honour of Dean Emeritus John McNeill who joined the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1971, recognizes faculty members at any stage in their academic career, in any of UBC’s health-related disciplines, who have formally been identified as mentors and who exemplify a deep commitment to fostering the professional and personal development of faculty colleagues, graduate students, and post-doctoral fellows, in the early stages of their academic career.

2016 Winner: Dr. Peter C. K. Leung, Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Faculty of Medicine, UBC.

R. Paul Kerston Community Educator Award

Named after long-time community educator, R. Paul Kerston, this annual award was established in 2014 to honour outstanding community educators who have made a difference to student learning at UBC. Two remarkable community members received this honour in 2016.

2016 Winners:

  • Mr. Darren Lauscher, Community Educator
  • Mr. Gerald (Gerry) Oleman, Community Educator
Award for Outstanding Leadership in Advancing Interprofessional Professional Development

This award honours an outstanding individual or health care team that promotes professional development in the areas of collaborative teaching among different health care professionals and/or collaborative patient-centred practice to support excellence in the delivery of patient-centred care.

2016 Winner: UBC Interprofessional Continuing Education, Faculty of Dentistry.

Practice Education Team Award

This award honours an outstanding health care team that demonstrates interprofessional education and collaborative practice that is evident to students.

2016 Winner: The team of :

  • Dr. Gail Hammond, Instructor, Faculty of Land and Food Systems, UBC;
  • Dr. Leeann Donnelly, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Dentistry, UBC; and
  • Dr. Greg Chang, creator and founder of SuperChefs Cookery for Kids.